Your nominees for the J-Source Canadian Newsperson of the Year award



We called for nominees and you answered, giving us a list of 28 journalists from across the country that you deemed worthy of the J-Source Canadian Newsperson of the Year award. Having produced work ranging from in-depth local news stories, to stellar international reporting, to renowned data and investigative journalism projects, these nominees represent a highlight reel of Canadian journalism in 2012.

While our panel of judges review the nominations to decide a shortlist of candidates, we have rounded up the list journalists and their stories that you gave as reason for nomination.

Click on each name for a sample of the work they were nominated for:


Adrienne Arsenault (CBC News)

Nahlah Ayed (CBC News)

Jorge Barrera (APTN National News)

Abby Cameron (The Enfield Weekly Press/The Laker)

Elizabeth Chiu (CBC Halifax)

Kevin Donovan (Toronto Star)

Pat Healey (The Laker/The Enfield Weekly Press)

Eva Hoare (The Chronicle Herald)

Chris Hogg (Digital Journal)

Andrea Houston (Xtra!)

Meghan Hurley (Ottawa Citizen)

Kirk LaPointe (CBC Ombudsman)

Sue-Ann Levy (Toronto Sun)

John Michael McGrath (OpenFile Toronto)

Glen McGregor (Ottawa Citizen)

Stephen Maher (Postmedia News)

Steve Murphy (ATV/CTV Halifax)

Steve Murray (National Post)

Rachel Pulfer (Journalists for Human Rights)

Lisa Rainford (Toronto Community News)

David Rider (Toronto Star)

Charles Rusnell (CBC Edmonton)

Michelle Shephard (Toronto Star)

David Skok (, Shaw Media)

Marlou Tiro (ABS/CBN)

Paula Todd

Kenny Yum (The Huffington Post Canada)

Sean Wetselaar (The Eyeopener)

Comment Policy

J-Source invites comments on any content items or on any other topics relevant to journalism. Those posting comments are expected to adhere to standards of accuracy and fairness that would be recognized by those who practise, teach or study journalism.

  • Comments are restricted to registered users. You must register with your full first and last name in order to be eligible to comment.
  • Please communicate as effectively and intelligently as you would in a professional or academic forum, focusing on the issues at hand rather than the characters or characteristics of those involved.
  • This forum is intended for discussion of the craft of journalism, not of the issues of the day that journalists cover; please do not post story tips or press releases.
  • We moderate the forum for adherence to these standards of discourse, and reserve the right to decline any comment or restrict any user from commenting without giving reasons. Every effort is made to approve valid comments within 24 hours of submission.