CJN vice-president Elizabeth Wolfe took helm of the Jewish newspaper as its president last week, while Yoni Goldstein will step in as the new editor as of Jan. 6, 2014. 

Elizabeth Wolfe is the new president of the Canadian Jewish News (CJN). Wolfe, who previously served as  vice-president, took helm of the independent Jewish newspaper last week when Donald Carr stepped down as president after 23 years. The CJN also appointed Yoni Goldstein as the new editor starting Jan. 6, 2014.

Earlier this year, CJN announced it was ceasing print production, laid off one-third of its staff due to declining advertising revenues and was going to publish online only. But a grassroots campaign made the newspaper’s board reconsider the decision, and the newspaper returned to print in August—with subscription prices jumping by 50 per cent.

“I think we’re looking at an evolution. We’re hoping to modernize the paper, to make it interesting and appealing, not only to its current audience, but to younger generations as well,” Wolfe said in a CJN article announcing her appointment. “We are beginning to take the first steps towards a re-design. We are hiring someone this week to help us change the look and the format of the paper… We really do need and want to transition to something that is just a little… bit edgier.”

Related content on J-Source:


Goldstein is a former CJN columnist, and his work has appeared in the Jerusalem Report, Maclean’s, National Post and the Wall Street Journal. He said he wants to bring more daily content online and increase CJN’s social media presence.

“I think honesty is attractive to younger readers. They start to question publications when they feel like they’re not getting the whole story,” Goldstein said in the CJN article. “We want to change the perception of being soft. To my mind, there are no topics that are off limits.” 

Related content on J-Source:

Tamara Baluja is an award-winning journalist with CBC Vancouver and the 2018 Michener-Deacon fellow for journalism education. She was the associate editor for J-Source from 2013-2014.