2012 Jack Webster Awards winners



The Jack Webster Foundation honoured journalism in British Columbia last week, presenting its annual awards to news organizations.

The big winner on the night was the Vancouver Sun, taking home five awards, including Patricia Graham’s Bruce Hutchinson Lifetime Achievement Award. The CBC, which had been nominated for a total of 12 awards across all platforms, took home three. The Vancouver Province won in two categories.

Chantal Hébert delivered a keynote speech on new media, journalism and political discourse. In her speech, the text for which can be found on Toronto Star’s website, Hébert called for news organizations to “agree to find a way for the gist of their political reporting to remain freely accessible to all comers” in reference to the fact that many of Canada’s largest newspapers’ websites will be behind paywalls come 2013.

You can find the full list of Webster awards winners here.

Comment Policy

J-Source invites comments on any content items or on any other topics relevant to journalism. Those posting comments are expected to adhere to standards of accuracy and fairness that would be recognized by those who practise, teach or study journalism.

  • Comments are restricted to registered users. You must register with your full first and last name in order to be eligible to comment.
  • Please communicate as effectively and intelligently as you would in a professional or academic forum, focusing on the issues at hand rather than the characters or characteristics of those involved.
  • This forum is intended for discussion of the craft of journalism, not of the issues of the day that journalists cover; please do not post story tips or press releases.
  • We moderate the forum for adherence to these standards of discourse, and reserve the right to decline any comment or restrict any user from commenting without giving reasons. Every effort is made to approve valid comments within 24 hours of submission.