The Canadian Journalism Project’s websites, (English) and (French), are produced by a collaboration of post-secondary journalism schools and programs led by Ryerson University, Université Laval and Carleton University, and supported by a group of benefactors including publishers, labour organizations and others who believe in excellence in journalism and its strong and vital future.

Our goal is to promote national discussion about journalism as well as providing a source for news, research, commentary, advice and resources for industry professionals, scholars and students. Your comments, suggestions and offers of support are very welcome.

Our history:

J-Source was launched in the spring of 2007 by a collective of Canadian journalism schools and organizations led by the Canadian Journalism Foundation (chair: Thomas Kierans; executive director: Jody Jacobson), which was the project’s principal funder and administrator until December, 2013. Initial development was made possible by grants from the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Graduate School for Advanced Communications at Ryerson University, the Canadian Media Research Consortium and the Ryerson Research Assistants Fund. Initial technical and administrative support by Joe Castaldo (School of Journalism, Ryerson Univrsity) and Ryerson’s Digital Media Projects team under the leadership of Mark Huras. The founding Editorial Committee members were Paul Benedetti (Western University), Colette Brin (Université Laval), Marc-François Bernier (Université Ottawa), Mary Doyle (Western University), Patricia Elliott (University of Regina), Dean Jobb (University of King’s College), Brian Gabrial (Concordia University), Abby Goodrum (Ryerson University), Linda Kay (Concordia University), Mary McGuire (Carleton University), Bill Reynolds (Ryerson University) and Stephen Ward (University of British Columbia).


Ivor Shapiro (Ryerson University, January 2007-December 2009)
Janice Neil (Ryerson University, January 2010-August 2013)
Bruce Gillespie (Wilfrid Laurier University, August 2013-April 2016)
Patricia W. Elliott (University of Regina, June 2016 to August 2018)
Sonya Fatah (Ryerson University, August 2018-present)