The CBC won three awards in the 2013 Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario's health reporting awards. 

The CBC lead the pack with three wins at the 2013 Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario's health reporting awards.

Here are the award winners, according to the press release:

Pauline Dakin won in the radio news story category for her CBC World at Six report on a controversial multiple sclerosis procedure. Alisa Siegel won in the radio feature category for The Sunday Edition story on an orphan refugee girl. CBC Ottawa reporters Steve Fischer, Lynn Douris, Paula Waddell, Mathieu Theriault and Reno Patry won in the television news story category for their story on opioid use in Ottawa.

Ottawa Citizen journalist Elizabeth Payne won in the daily newspaper category for her piece on the stigma that surrounds lung cancer. Her colleague Joanne Laucius won in the feature category for her story examining the difficulty teens with chronic conditions experience when moving from the pediatric health system into the adult system.

Steve Buist, at the Hamilton Spectator, won the daily newspaper best series award for “Cancer: A Code Red Project,” which looked at the link between cancer rates and income in Hamilton.

Manotick News journalists Laura Mueller, Emma Jackson, Jessica Cunha, Blair Edwards and Michelle Nash won the community newspaper feature category for a three-part series on the need for hospice palliative care in the Ottawa area.

Global News reporters Patrick Cain and Carmen Chai landed the best story award in the online category for their work on the connections between birth patterns, economy, sex education and advances in sexual reproduction.

TVO’s The Agenda with Steve Paikin won the television feature award for its investigation into the urgent problems around mental health in Ontario and globally. 

Related content on J-Source:

Tamara Baluja is an award-winning journalist with CBC Vancouver and the 2018 Michener-Deacon fellow for journalism education. She was the associate editor for J-Source from 2013-2014.