The 70th annual NNA's presented Friday, with the Globe and Mail sweeping awards for business, beat reporting, presentation and more

The winners of the 2018 National Newspaper Awards were announced on May 3, with the Globe and Mail winning top honours in 10 categories.

Zosia Bielski, senior writer at the Globe and Mail, took home the E. Cora Hind Award for Beat Reporting for her coverage of gender and sexuality.

The John Wesley Dafoe Award for Politics went to Robert Fife, Steven Chase, Sean Silcoff and Christine Dobby of the Globe and Mail for their reporting into how Huawei fits in with Beijing’s global ambitions.

And the Toronto Star’s Washington correspondent Daniel Dale won the international reporting award for his famed work exhaustively tracking the lies of U.S. President Donald Trump.

The Star Phoenix’s Kevin Mitchell was named Journalist of the Year in recognition of his reporting in the wake of the Humboldt Broncos bus crash.

For the full list of winners, visit the NNA website here.

Steph Wechsler is J-Source's managing editor.