Sarah Seeley and Zane Schwartz take home award that honours work by journalists aged 20 to 25 at daily newspapers.

Sarah Seeley and Zane Schwartz are the winners of the 27th annual Hon. Edward Goff Penny Memorial Prizes.

The annual News Media Canada administered award honours journalists aged 20 to 25 who work at daily newspapers.

Seeley was the winner in the small market category. She won for her work at the Times & Transcript in Moncton, which included pieces about a soldier “losing his life to PTSD; an A1 piece on the closing of a community residence leaving occupants searching for a new home; and the story of a transgender student who left school when the bullying became unbearable,” according to a press release from NMC.

This is the second year that Schwartz has won the award in the large market category. Among the stories he was recognized for was his National Post series on Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s cash-for-access events .

To learn more about the winners, please visit the NMC website.

H.G. Watson was J-Source's managing editor from 2015 to 2018. She is a journalist based in Toronto. You can learn more about her at