Last weekend, 8 were inducted into the Atlantic Journalism Hall of Fame as awards were announced to honour reporting from the past year

The winners of the 2018 Atlantic Journalism Awards were presented at a ceremony in Halifax on May 11, 2019.

Trina Roache won double honours, taking home awards for television feature for her APTN Investigates episode History Decolonized and for best video journalist.

El Jones won top honours in the commentary category for her Halifax Examiner piece, I don’t want to be a role model, I just want to be allowed to be human.

Maggie Rahr also took home 2 awards, winning gold in both arts and entertainment reporting and best profile article for her Halifax Magazine piece about musician Garrett Mason.

Eight were inducted into the Atlantic Journalism Hall of Fame, including AJA executive director Bill Skerritt and CBC Novia Scotia’s Yvonne Colbert. G. Cecil Day was inducted posthumously in recognition of his 61-year newspaper career, which culminated with his time as the editor and publisher of Liverpool, N.S.’s the Advance.

For the rest of the winners, visit the AJA’s website here.

Steph Wechsler is J-Source's managing editor.