The Canadian Journalism Foundation has announced the finalists of its Excellence in Journalism Award in the large-media and small-media categories.

The five finalists in the large-media category are:
CBC News: Special Investigations Unit
The Current – CBC Radio One
Postmedia News
Toronto Star
Winnipeg Free Press


The five finalists in the small-media category are:
CBC New Brunswick
Turtle Island News
The Tyee
Vancouver Observer


The winners will be announced at the  CJF Awards  on June 13 in Toronto.


Tamara Baluja is an award-winning journalist with CBC Vancouver and the 2018 Michener-Deacon fellow for journalism education. She was the associate editor for J-Source from 2013-2014.