Back to the article

Aug. 21, 2013

Memo to all editorial staff:

Thank you to everyone who applied for the voluntary departure program. It closed on Aug. 16 and we have reviewed all the applications.

Several of our colleagues will leave The Record in the coming weeks. The departures will be staggered and we will have a chance to say goodbye to the following people:

Bill Bean

Frances Barrick

Ryan Chen-Wing

Arnie Dyck

Chuck Howitt


Leanne Moses

Robert Wilson

Dianne Wood

Harvey Taylor

With so many of our colleagues leaving, we will reorganize the newsroom. We will talk about that in September. If you have thoughts or ideas on what you are currently doing and how you might contribute to our restructured newsroom, please talk to the manager of your department.

I would like to thank all our departing staff for their service to The Record and the community. We wish them well as they retire or pursue other interests. We'll have more to say about their time with us on their departure days.

Lynn Haddrall


Back to the article

Tamara Baluja is an award-winning journalist with CBC Vancouver and the 2018 Michener-Deacon fellow for journalism education. She was the associate editor for J-Source from 2013-2014.